Restores My Soul.

Lead me where waters are still

Fields are rich with rolling hills

Overflowing

Oil, so sweet

~Sky

~~~~~~~~~~

 

The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, to guide and to shield me], I shall not want…”

IMG_5291

“…He lets me lie down in green pastures…”

IMG_5255

 

“…He leads me beside the still and quiet waters…”

IMG_5272

“…He refreshes and restores my soul (life)…”

IMG_5365.JPG

“…He leads me in the paths of righteousness…”

IMG_5243

“…for His name’s sake…”

IMG_5306

“…Even though I walk through the [sunless] valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil…” 

IMG_5351

“…for You are with me;
Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort and console me…”

IMG_5198

“…You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies…”

IMG_5421

“…You have anointed and refreshed my head with oil…”

IMG_5225

“…My cup overflows…”

IMG_5301

“…Surely goodness and mercy and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life…”

IMG_5413

“..And I shall dwell forever [throughout all my days] in the house and in the presence of the Lord.”

IMG_5342

IMG_5289

Psalm 23

IMG_5345

From the Amplified Version.

IMG_5353

~~~~~~~~~~

Savasana is a posture in yoga. Arguably the most difficult to achieve in its full expression.

If you didn’t know better, you’d probably attach the words “most difficult” and “yoga”  to a skinny long haired yogi with intricate ‘yin / yang’ and koi tattoos sketched on the skin doing the most abstract one handed inversion on a random desolate mountain top somewhere in India.

But Savasana, in its purest simplicity, is literally laying down on your back.

All limbs on the floor.

All muscles totally relaxed and every thought stilled beyond stillness.

“Corps pose” is the english name. One of my teachers offers this cue when we practice savasana in class “If you were really dead right now, what other muscles could you relax? What else do you need to let go of?”

And that is why it is arguably the must difficult: Embodying stillness beyond stillness both in the body and in the mind. 

This Psalm, Psalm 23, is the antidote to my restlessness.

To my moments of anti-stillness.

The cure for my dis-ease of frantic thinking and constant contemplating.

When I ponder myself into hopeless disaster, this reminder that when He is leading me (or,when I am following Him), I will find myself near still waters. I will be guided by calmness and serenity. Becuase of His nature. That is who He is.

And if I hear hurricanes and storm sirens echo between my ears, then I’ve wondered too far. I need to draw near.

And then I am surrounded by lush rolling green forever whenever I rest my mind on the reality of His presence and life in me and in creation.

Breathing and beating His grace.

When I rest my thoughts on His love for me. Oh what peace.

What fulfillment I experience.

Because that is all I really need.

And come to find out, that is all I truly want.

He is very alive and when I worry, I forget that. When I worry, its because I’m looking at my life with these earth eyes again and forgetting the Word lens.

The earth eyes see me as most important and they see that I need to figure everything that is bothering, hurting or disappointing me out. Right now (or preferably yesterday). And if I dont have all of the answers, then I am not allowed to have peace.

Always such urgency and no grace.

And sure enough the Word always says to wait and to slow and to be still. 

Opposite of the howling urgencies anxiety ensue.

Why does He tell us to be still?

Because it is so unnatural for us humans (or at least for myself) to wait and slow and still.

Hurry is a hard habit to break!

But I’ve found that a hurried life indeed empties the soul. And haste makes waste.

  • The Word always says to set your mind no things above (Col. 3).
  • On pure, lovely noble things (Phil. 4).
  • Transformation comes from the renewing of the mind (Rom. 12).
  • And that it is good to wait (Lam. 3).
  • You cannot, cannot have a fruitful life apart from Him; resting in Him (John 15).

The Bible never tells us to focus on ourselves.

And whenever I do, I’m most restless.

~~~

So, savasana, “corps pose”, dead pose.

Surrender pose.

Surrender is always the hardest part. Of anything.

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” Psalm 46:10

Let go of the false responsibility that you have to have it all figured out before you can enter His rest.

You cannot control anything (or at least very very very little) that happens around you. But take comfort and joy in knowing, in believing, that it is your job to stay near the Truth and while your life may be falling apart outside and around you, you can have the stillness beyond stillness in your spirit. That is real stillness. Stillness, rest, in your spirit.

He is sovereign, you are loved, and all you need, the only thing you need, is a real living relationship with Him, the real living creator and lover of your soul.

The One who made you, loves you.

So I rest, and because I’m rested, I can praise, and I praise because what else can escape my lips?

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Restores My Soul.”

Leave a Reply

