BEAUTY beyond BEAUTY | Audrey Hepburn Exhibit in Seoul

(As defined by dictionary.com)

Beauty

1.the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations (as shape, color, sound, etc.), a meaningful design or pattern, or something else (as a personality in which high spiritual qualities are manifest).

In a physical world constructed with physical things, we breathing humanoids wafting through life day by day guided by depleted eyes that can only see deeply as skin will unveil, it is no surprise to me that outward beauty is sought so, prized so; valued so.

IMG_7430

One such valued beauty would be Audrey Hepburn. (Here I am, sandwiched between two portraits of her, one from each of my favorite of her films).

IMG_7422

Anybody who knows anything about A.H. knows that her meek disposition onscreen was a character trait that followed her offscreen into and through out day to day life. She was a gentle spirit; kind calm and so graceful.

IMG_7440

Delicate.

The world praises her for her beautiful face, body, voice, disposition, poise, posture, laugh etc…

(…through and through she was very attractive and has always been very inspiring to me [for as long as I can remember] for various reasons–one being her style [clean, modest, chic, feminine]).

Pretty woman.

But, there is far more to life than being well dressed.

audrey23 drawing4

After wandering through the exhibit for nearly two hours, it occurred to me that being physically beautiful alone attributes very little to a woman. Very little to life really.

Common thought maybe, but there was new weight in this truth for me that day.

Viewing gowns and costumes on plastic bodies that once robed the ‘queen‘ herself, dresses I’ve watched her stun in silver, and technicolor for my entire life, it was humbling.

She is gone, but her dresses and shoes and drawings remain.

Her body is dead, but her beautiful grace infectious leaves residue on my heart. Inspiration to mimic the gentle spirit, feminine meekness she modeled. Gracious, giving, quiet heat.

“Your adornment must not be merely external– braiding the hair, and wearing gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; but let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

What I saw with my depleted eyes was that the tangible beauty, long lasting beauty (Beauty beyond Beauty) is deep rooted in the heart, cultivated, farmed and nurtured by life, love, people, God.

IMG_7431

When I was little, I remember being enamored by her beauty. It was either in “Sabrina” or “Roman Holiday”. Regardless, I’ve truly looked up to her example of womanhood, physically and disposition-ally for a very long time. . .

. . . not to put her on a pedestal. Humility was a major aspect of her beautiful constitution. She was human, and very flawed. We all are. But beyond her faulted humanness, she carried herself so well. So much grace. A quality I strive to attain and inspire women around me in my life to pursue as well.

Only, for a greater purpose: so that people I encounter might see through my brokenness a beautiful Creator who longs to know you intimately.

The most beautiful love.

Beauty beyond Beauty.

May my meekness, poise, grace, gentleness and kindness be a reflection of the Kindest, most Gracious, most Loving.

IMG_7406 IMG_7408 IMG_7414 IMG_7419 IMG_7421

We had fun.

Beautiful fun.

One thought on “BEAUTY beyond BEAUTY | Audrey Hepburn Exhibit in Seoul”

  1. Well I am QUITE envious of your adventure to Seoul to see the Audrey Hepburn exhibit. *sigh* That is something I’ve always wanted to do, even though I had NO CLUE there was an exhibit in Korea?! It must have been a wonderful experience. ❤

    "Nothing is impossible; the word itself says 'I'm Possible'…"

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

