K#24| Another Song In The Making

if I take the wings of the Dawn
and dwell ore the sea
wherever I may run
You’re with me
~
You know me too well
crafted me form dirt
dry brittle earth
falls through your fingers
Your finger prints
are all over my skin
You breathed  the breath of life into my lungs
which is why I sing my songs
~
Search my heart
cleanse my hands
Guide my feet
with your lamp
You hem me in
behind and before
With your right hand You hold me
 You lead me through the dark
~
Quietly I’ve learned to bow
humbly at the cross I fall
With joy knowing fully well
You’re the warrior of my soul
~
Lead me where waters are still
fields rich
With rolling hills
Overflowing
oil so sweet
Crowns
litter the ground
at your feet
on my knees
(Photo of a sunrise view atop the school).
The element of joy has been lacking in my worship lately.
I used to look forward to going to church as a little girl because of the praise and worship time. I remember certain songs would echo in my head for days..carry me through the week. I loved worship.
Being in the position of a worship leader, I’ve been convicted of a few few things, mainly my lack of sacrifice..
What I mean I guess is that I’ve been very focused on the musicality, pleasing the other band members and trying to listen to what everybody has to say–I don’t want it to be a Skylar show– but at the same time, it has been very stressful trying to appease everyone.
That stress and contributed to the extraction of enjoyment during worship greatly.
Worship is a lifestyle, not a 30 minute segment before the pastor speaks and then another 4 minutes after the service.
Its the posture of living a surrendered life, heart swelled with gratitude and trust equally.
Stars from the world  collet in mounds at my feet (do you remember the Max Lucado story about the wooden puppets?).
Gaze set on the cross.
Knees bowed, heart sinks too.
Song escapes my lips by chance, as an overflow of gladness.
In the shadow of the cross.
It is never about me, but always about His glory, and reflecting that, pointing others to Him.
And that is where the gladness is! Music is powerful. My voice is an instrument of His peace, beauty, glory, love, grace, mercy! But gladness cannot be birthed from anxiety of someone being driven by perfectionism.
Gladness always come form a surrendered heart.
Thankful for being______ (fill in the blank).
Gratitude resinates in the heart, setting the stage.
Eyes aimed on the cross.
Heart focused on His scars.
The less of me the better.
May I pale completely in the light of Him and who He is.
That is my prayer.
Kisses,
Sky

Psalm 100

1Shout joyfully to the Lord, all the earth.

Serve the Lord with gladness;
Come before Him with joyful singing.
Know that the Lord [b]Himself is God;
It is He who has made us, and [c]not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.

Enter His gates with [d]thanksgiving
And His courts with praise.
Give thanks to Him, bless His name.
For the Lord is good;
His lovingkindness is everlasting
And His faithfulness to all generations.

One thought on “K#24| Another Song In The Making”

  1. This is exactly what Aaron teaches in his worship school. We worship all day long. Not just verses 1,2 & 4 out of a hymnal, or a set time. It is HOLY SPIRIT driven – has to be. That is where the joy is.
    Have you taken a look at Aaron’s site, or thought about his worship school at all? I would love for you to at least meet him, Sky. Please pray about it. Love you much, Aunt Jayne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

