K#13|Hurried Life Empties Soul

“Surely, every man walks about like a shadow. Surely they busy themselves in vain. He heaps up riches and does not know who will gather them. ” Psalm 39:6

“Being in a hurry. Getting to the next thing without fully entering the thing in front of me. I cannot think of a single advantage I’ve ever gained by being in a hurry. But a thousand broken and missed things, tens of thousands, lie in the wake of all the rushing . . . Through all of that haste I thought I was making up time. It turns out, I was throwing it away. ” – Mark Buchanan The Rest of God: Restoring Your Soul by Restoring Your Sabbath 

“Haste makes waste.”

“Hurry makes hurt. And maybe its the hurt that drives us on? For all our frenzied running seemingly toward something, could it be that we are in fact fleeing–desperate to escape pain that pursues? . . . Hurry always empties a soul. ” *

“Every sin is an attempt to fly from emptiness.” -Simone Weil

You cannot both rush and relish life.

One or the other.

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” J.R.R. Tolken

Pause.

Salah. 

“And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever.” 1st John 2:17

I know I’ve been pretty chattery here during the past few posts. But vocalizing my thoughts (or I guess more appropriately type-L-izing my thoughts) is necessary for me to get a new concept.

Its almost like this: Words of new truth and fresh wisdom float around in my head-many colors shining in the sun. If I don’t reach for the strings curled and intertwined, and anchor them with led ink on my heart, then they will either pop or float away into the clouds.

Some usually get away, only for me to come across again another time deflated. Only, I’m deflated and the Word brings the concept back to life.

So I try not to stress over remembering everything at once. After all-hurriedness is an unnecessary evil.

Key word: Try.

This new concept of eucharisteofor example, is one of the most beautiful things I’ve read in a long time.

The lifestyle changing, paradigm transforming game.

The heart thing.

“The Lord said to Samuel ‘ do not look at his appearance or the height of his stature because I have rejected him; for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. ” 1 Samuel 16:7

“Eucharist [thanksgiving] is the state of the perfect man. Eucharist is the life of paradise.  Eucharist is the only full and real response of man to God’s creation, redemption, and gift of heaven. ” Alexander Schmemann

I read and read and smile as the breeze of book pages cool my face.

I close the book and my brain is buzzing. “What did I just read?”

But then I walk outside and inhale the cool evening air (autumn is lurking in the shadows of the night) and think long and hard about what I’ve just spent the last few hours devouring. . .

I read with heart pulsing whole agreement about the futility of speeding through life: “And did he, the deceased, push to get through each day so he’d be first lunging over the finish line, life done? Did the dashing to grab fistfuls of life fill his emptiness . . . fill the emptiness of a coffin? ” *

These words make me bleed–because I too have lived in such a panic to finish. 

Finish what?

“Surely, every man walks about like a shadow. Surely they busy themselves in vain. He heaps up riches and does not know who will gather them. ” Psalm 39:6

” They say time is money but thats not true. Time is life. And if I want the fullest life, I need to find the fullest time. . .the busyness of your life leaving little room for the source of your life. . . God gives us time. And who has time for God? Which makes no sense. ” *

“In a world addicted to speed, I blur the moments into one unholy spear.” *

. . .Oh yeah. . .

Stop.

Slow.

Breath.

Feel.

Touch.

See.

Smell.

Laugh.

Look.

Hold eye contact.

Feel the hug.

Listen for the heartbeat.

Live.

Eva-‘to live’

Salah. 

Biblically, you must remember, dare I say embrace that reality of earth’s futility.

“Whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.” James 4:14

I am wounded with conviction by the realization of how poorly I’ve managed my time. How I’ve been ungrateful with certain seasons of my life and wished many of them away, sealed with complaints and idle meaningless gossip and criticisms.

Why was my heart so wicked?

But I’m not consumed with regret.

Anymore at least.

I was at one point.

Shame and regret for all of my past sin–not just the bad attitudes.

To regret is to focus on what cannot be changed. A fixed gaze on the wrongs of a past that will forever be untouched.

Want to talk about wasting time?

Then keep on regretting.

Haha!

Its  balance: Learn to live the full life, but for the cause of something bigger. Not just so you can be full. Never make you your focus or aim. If you are ever the target for your happiness then you will never be happy.

You will always be unhappy as long as you’re focusing on yourself regardless of the manner (self love, self hatred, shame, regret.. its all pride).

Again, I say to you as before, I’m not advocating a fluffy weak life cradled in good feelings and feel-good notions.

I want my life to look different from the world.

I want my heart to sing again.

Fake food doesn’t fill. It can’t satisfy.

Why do I keep buying the junk food?

And I’m learning that the only way to really change is to do something different. 

That something different is actually dying to myself.

Yes, choosing to seek other’s interest above my own.

Yes, choosing to focus of giving instead of getting (acts 20:35).

Ann (with an ‘e’)  says it so perfectly: “Its not what the world holds for you. Its what your bring to it.”

Aaa those words echo.

There, something I can actually do: give. 

 Live to give, and give for His name sake.

For eternity.

Eternity is for the human soul. Everything else will pass away.

Fill your soul with Truth of God’s word.

I guarantee that you will not have an empty soul if you feed it what it craves.

It is God whom we endlessly crave.*

“But He answered and said, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.’”Matthew 4:4

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness for they will be satisfied” Matthew 5:6

6. Sleep: food for wear bodies. Tired bones.

7. Bonfire cackling along with the autumn leaves that chatter in the wind

8. Fresh cut timbers: sweet to the nose and cold to the fingers.

9. Anytime Dad smiles.

10. Every time mother laughs-it is magic peacemaking potion.

Give me a mind that will remember Your truth. Thank you for You spirit of Power, love and self-control living in me,

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thanks.

Thankful.

Sleeping. . .

. . .

. .

.

Ann Voskamp One Thousand Gifts *

I do not own this photo

2 thoughts on “K#13|Hurried Life Empties Soul”

  1. Oh, Sky, how God is using you in your ole’ aunties life. I am filled with regret and anger and am tired of living this way. I want my life to be so filled and overflowing with His Word, that I think like Him, act like Him, and see others as He does. I went to yoga on Friday and when breathing, I was inhaling in blessings/thankfulness, and exhaling joy. I need word pictures to remember well. Thank you ever so much. And today, to s l o w d o w n, is what I so needed to hear. Sometimes I am rushing so, God could not get my attention unless He knocks me on my face, which happens. S l o w d o w n. Selah. Take a deep breath. There is no time for regret and anger, only time to love and be loved. If for no one else, you are helping me wade through the muck and mire of my messy life and thoughts, learning to replace them with Gods Word and thankfulness and joy. Thank you. I love you……

    Cool breezes, mountains, outdoor fires that smell so good, marshmallows, forgiveness

    Liked by 1 person

    1. the WORD OF GOD needs to be read ABOVE ALL and needs to be SCRIPTED ON OUR HEARTS WITH STERLING INK. But… this book ( http://www.amazon.com/One-Thousand-Gifts-Fully-Right/dp/0310321913/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411376711&sr=8-1&keywords=one+thousand+gifts ) has been helping me visualize biblical truths for application and OBEDIENCE. Mines a heart that is depleted because I choose my strength over His grace. The truth illustrated in this books (inspired by Biblical truth) has been very instrumental in life. Consider buying it, reading it, living it. *ALWAYS WITH A BIBLE OPEN AT YOUR SIDE* ❤ Skylar

      Like

Leave a Reply

