Happy Hair How To

Happy Hair How To

Hello!
Here are a few things I’ve been practicing to achieve and maintain happy (and healthy) hair!

IMG_7521

1. Wash Your Hair Once a week.
For those of you who tend to have dry hair (like myself) I suggest starting this routine right away! Wash your hair once every 7 days (sometimes I can stretch it to 10).
If you tend to have oily hair, start out by washing your hair once every 3 days, then once every 5, then once every 7 days over a period of a month or so (more or less).
The reason why washing your hair LESS is so vital  to growing long, strong, beautiful hair is because whenever you wash your hair, you’re stripping your hair of its natural oils which are nutritious for (and delicious to) your hungry hair. Usually the first 5 days after I wash my hair I can wear my hair down, but the last two days I consider my ‘up do’ days and I choose a braid or some other cute up style to hide any oily spots that may have accumulated over the week. Your body will adjust and quite making so much oil once you start washing it less. Right now as you wash it frequently, your body ‘panics’ and hyper produces oil to compensate all thats been scrubbed away!

IMG_7552

2. Mask Your Hair Every Week
The night before my hair washing day, I mist my hair with water, comb through it (starting at the ends!),  massage a mask to my hair and scalp,  comb through again, twirl it in a loose bun, then wrap my head (excluding face!! :P) with a plastic grocery bag. I sleep in it over night and then shampoo and condition it the next A.M.! My favorite masks are:
-Straight up coconut Oil
-1 egg whisked with 2 tsp. olive oil
-2 egg whites, whisked slightly 

IMG_1445

3. Use a GOOD Oil to Apply to the Ends of your Hair
This practice helps repair damages ends and strengthens weak strands. A little goes a long way. A really long way! I apply my oil once my hair has dried. It helps to rub the oil into your palms before you apply to your ends. My favorite oils are:
-Jojoba oil
-Coconut oil
There are many more, but these are my personal favorites.

IMG_8535

4. No Matter the pressure, Say NO to HEAT                                                                                                                                         To the best of your ability, avoid or completely abstain from flat irons, curling irons and blow dryers. If you must use a dryer, gently pat dry your hair with a towel, comb through with a wide tooth comb, then use the COOL setting on your blower. Heat, especially when so close to contact, zaps the moisture out of your hair, resulting with a frail, brittle mane (in the long run).

IMG_7547

5. Eating well, drinking well, sleeping well
The remedy for most of our health problems today.

Eating well: I highly recommend food combining. You don’t have to eliminate anything form your diet really (although it doesn’t hurt to say ‘bye bye’ to anything processed, packaged or refined!), but learning how your digestive system works and catering to its functionality will make you feel better, and your body will be absorbing the nutrients from your food better, so you’ll also LOOK better. I recommend this article to read more.

Drinking Well: By “Drinking” I mean drinking water. Your body needs h2o. Dehydration is the cause of many health issues, and yet, the antidote is cheaper than any drug or supplement. I aim for 3 quarts a day. If that is overwhelming, then start out by drinking half of your weight in ounces daily (e.g. 140lbs, drink 70 oz. of H2o).

Sleeping Well: Don’t eat anything three hours before you hit the hay. Turn OFF your computer 2-3 hours before go to bed. Do these simple, relaxing yoga sequences (here and here) to relieve any stress or tension in your jaw, shoulders, stomach, joints. Remember to B-R-E-A-T-H-E deeply: inhale expands your stomach, exhale pulls your belly button in.

All in all, there isn’t a simple, once done, easy cure for having long healthy hair (or a long healthy life!). It is a LIFESTYLE CHANGE. Practicing good habits. Establishing good routines that will de-stress your mind, body and spirit. After all, the main culprit to our health problems is S-T-R-E-S-S. Whether anxiety, fear, unforgiveness, bitterness, these negative emotions add negative stress to our bodies and minds. If you’re after a real stress free life, you have to do the work from the inside out, looking closely at your beliefs, recognizing any lies that have attached themselves to you, then combatting those lies with TRUTH. “The TRUTH will set you free.” (John 8:32). You will feel so light and peaceful when you’re able to stand firm on a foundation of truth. I find a lot of security in knowing who I am and having a full grasp as to what my purpose is, and letting go of my past and other thoughts that burdened me…

… a deep topic for another post sometime… 😀

To sum it up: “A Heart at PEACE gives LIFE to the BODY…” Proverbs 14:30

I am not a doctor and do NOT claim to be a nutritionist or anything. These are simply some habits I’ve been working into my life the past year or so and I wanted to share them with you all!

Blessings,

Skylar

IMG_1570

One thought on “Happy Hair How To”

Leave a Reply

