Seasons

Ecclesiastes Three verse eleven reaffirms that we’re made in His likeness (Genesis 1:26), which is always a very uplifting thought  for me. Especially in those times when I loose track of  my true identity;

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” (v.11)

I’ve been struggling to maintain a Godly attitude at my current place of work. Though recently I’ve begun to notice changed inside myself. I’ve worked very hard, but I know it is my Father who has been working incomparably harder than I at the daunting task of softening my heart to receive (and apply) His instructions to lead a life holy set apart (by actions – particularly Exodus 20:12) from this world. And the lovely conclusion in the book of Ecclesiastes reaffirms my newfound heart, and gladdens me to the fullest to have such black and white instruction on how my attitude should be;

“So I saw that there is nothing better for a person than to enjoy their work, because that is their lot. For who can bring them to see what will happen after them?” (v.23)

Of course, you all know the opening to this chapter (“Theres a time to…”). This line  “…a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing…” is especially applicable to me here and now.

It is time to refrain from embracing. And it is my prayer, that through my loosened grip on desires that once consumed my heart, I will allow myself to become vulnerable to His plan for my life, and more sensitive to His guiding spirit rather than being so stiflingly focused on forcing situations and being so determined to achieve the things want ( which is defiantly the best way to insure self corruption-Ecclesiastes 3:12-13).

Leave a Reply

